The Women Tech Council (WTC), a national organization based in Utah and focused on the economic impact of women in the technology sector, has announced the 21 finalists for its 2021 Women Tech Awards.

“These awards bring visibility to technology-focused women throughout the industry who are leading technology companies, creating new technologies, driving innovation and inspiring the tech community,” the organization said.

“As we face the first female recession and the 'Great Resignation,' everyone is more acutely aware of the vital impact of women in all fields, especially technology, and the need to create opportunities for women at every level,” said Cydni Tetro, president of WTC. “Giving visibility and recognition to the accomplishments and contributions of women in tech helps fight this tide, and instead creates momentum for all women by accelerating their impact, raising awareness about the vitality of women in diverse teams, and inspiring more women and girls to pursue STEM fields. After nearly two years apart due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we can think of no greater reason to come together and no more pressing time to do so.”

Since launching 14 years ago, the Women Tech Awards has elevated and celebrated the leadership, innovations and contributions of hundreds of individual women in technology and raised the visibility of the impact of women in tech as a whole, Tetro said.

Each finalist was selected based on professional achievements, business leadership, industry experiences and personal accomplishments. Judging for the awards was conducted by a panel of leaders from throughout the technology community.

Listed alphabetically, the Women Tech Award finalists include Amy Dredge, vice president of the Technology Center of Excellence at Pluralsight; Angie Balfour, chief people officer of Weave; Darcy Douglas, vice president of global program management for Taulia; Emily Tew, senior vice president and analytics director at Health Catalyst; Jamie Lyon, vice president of strategy and business development at Lucid; Jen Gray, vice president of product marketing at Filevine; Juliette Bautista; director at Club Ability; Katie Iversen, NERC/Modeling risk manager of AES Clean Energy; Laura McCarty, vice president of technical support Americas for Pure Storage; and Lindsey Henderson, secondary mathematics specialist for the Utah State Board of Education.

Other finalists are Mandy Rogers, integrated functional capabilities manager at Northrop Grumman; Milada Copeland, chief information security officer at Progrexion; Namitha Nayak, vice president of engineering for NICE CXone; Nikki Walker, director of brand experience and community engagement at Domo; Sadiqa Mahmood, general manager and senior vice president of life sciences business at Health Catalyst; Serenie Gagon, vice president of product payment solutions at Finicity, a Mastercard Company; Shari Mann, engineering fellow and OCS chief engineer at L3Harris; Sherrie Cowley, head of security operations for 3M; Sujatha Sampath, physicist and senior engineer at Micron Technology; Toni Sears, senior director of program management at CHG Healthcare; and Zyanya Bejarano, vice president of sales, Latin America for Instructure.

Award recipients will be announced Sept. 30 at an awards luncheon at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City. The 2021 awards will be presented by Domo, Health Catalyst, Pelion Venture Partners and Vivint.

Pin It